Capital markets: Sharp decline

Analysis of European Biotech Companies on the Stock Market 2019

Download Report als PDF

Berlin, 22.10.2019 – Biotech activity on stock markets have declined significantly in 2019. This is the result of the most recent capital market report of BIOCOM that was published in October.

Only two European companies went public in the first half of the year: Marinomed Biotech raised €22.4m at the Vienna Stock Exchange, while the Nasdaq IPO of Austrian Hookipa Biotech AG reached a total of €74.4m. According to the analysis, volumes of capital increases have also charted at a comparatively low level so far. The 241 European biotech companies raised a total of €1.74bn in financial proceeds by the first half year of 2019 – 32% less than during the same time period in 2018 (€2.54bn).

However, some signs of recovery are appearing on the horizon: During the first weeks of the third quarter some companies showed significant activity, which led to huge capital increases and IPOs. This is not only true for the secondary listing of Danish biotech company Genmab in July, but also for some larger capital increases and Nasdaq IPOs of European Biotech companies, which took place in September and October.

The BIOCOM report “Analysis of European Biotech Companies on the Stock Markets” provides an overview of the current European public biotech sector. Ever since 2012, it covers IPOs, follow-on financings, and secondary listings on all major stock market centres in Europe, as well as on US Nasdaq.

Download the full report

What can we do for you?

Are you interested in our products or services? Please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be pleased to provide you with a quote – flexible and tailored directly to your needs. You can also call us at +49 (0)30 2649210.

Kapitalmärkte: Starker Einbruch

Analysis of European Biotech Companies on the Stock Market 2019

Bericht als PDF herunterladen

Berlin, 22.10.2019 – Die Biotech-Aktivität an den Aktienmärkten ist im Jahr 2019 deutlich zurückgegangen. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt der jüngste Kapitalmarktbericht der BIOCOM, der im Oktober veröffentlicht wurde.

Nur zwei europäische Unternehmen gingen im ersten Halbjahr an die Börse: Marinomed Biotech sammelte 22,4 Mio. € an der Wiener Börse, während der Nasdaq-IPO der österreichischen Hookipa Biotech AG insgesamt 74,4 Mio. € erzielte. Laut der BIOCOM-Analyse liegen auch die Volumina der Kapitalerhöhungen bisher auf einem vergleichsweise niedrigen Niveau. Die 241 europäischen Biotech-Unternehmen haben bis zum ersten Halbjahr 2019 insgesamt 1,74 Mrd. € an Finanzmitteln eingeworben – 32% weniger als im gleichen Zeitraum des Vorjahres (2,54 Mrd. €).

Allerdings zeichnet sich am Horizont eine Belebung ab: In den ersten Wochen des dritten Quartals konnten einige Unternehmen erhebliche Kapitalerhöhungen und IPOs verzeichnen. Dies gilt etwa für die Zweitnotierung des dänischen Biotech-Unternehmens Genmab im Juli, und auch für eine Reihe größere Kapitalerhöhungen und Nasdaq-IPOs europäischer Biotech-Unternehmen, die im September und Oktober stattfanden.

Der BIOCOM-Bericht „Analysis of European Biotech Companies on the Stock Markets“ gibt einen Überblick über den aktuellen europäischen Biotech-Börsensektor. Seit 2012 umfasst er Börsengänge, Folgefinanzierungen und Zweitnotierungen an allen wichtigen Wertpapierbörsen in Europa sowie an der US-amerikanischen Nasdaq.

Den vollständigen Bericht herunterladen

Was können wir für Sie tun?

Haben Sie Interesse an unseren Produkten oder Dienstleistungen? Bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf. Wir unterbreiten Ihnen sehr gerne ein unverbindliches Angebot – flexibel und direkt auf Sie zugeschnitten. Und natürlich können Sie uns auch direkt anrufen +49 (0)30 2649210