Antimicrobial resistances in the spotlight

Panel discussion at AMR Conference 2019

Berlin, 21.03.2019 – More than 330 international experts came to Berlin on March 14 and 15 for the twelfth Berlin Conference on Life Sciences to discuss the most urgent challenges in the fight against antibiotic resistance.

The two-day conference entitled “Novel Antimicrobials and AMR Diagnostics 2019” was organised by BIOCOM with the support of the European BEAM Alliance. The event attracted above all numerous small and medium-sized innovative enterprises (SMEs) to Berlin. While many large pharmaceutical companies have left the field, hundreds of SMEs are working on new therapy and diagnostic solutions to combat multi-resistant pathogens.

“The AMR conference has established itself as a professional platform for joint discussion and networking for AMR stakeholders from all over the world,” says Sandra Wirsching, responsible for the AMR conference programme at BIOCOM. Representatives of the international AMR Accelerator CARB-X, the World Health Organization (WHO), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), GARDP, DZIF, the European networks JPIAMR and ENABLE, the Global AMR R&D Hub, of the new International AMR Centre ICARS, major pharmaceutical and diagnostic companies, biotech companies and private investors presented updates, new initiatives and promising approaches to support AMR innovations in development, financing and market introduction.

For the first time this year, the conference offered investor partnering to bring together AMR-oriented therapeutics and diagnostics developers with relevant public and private financiers. “Investor partnering represents a major step forward,” commented Sandra Wirsching. “The participants in the 200 or so meetings rated the project very positively.

Representatives of the industry praised the event and emphasised that it contributes to achieving the urgently needed public attention for antimicrobial resistance.

Go to Event-Website

What can we do for you?

Are you interested in our products or services? Please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be pleased to provide you with a quote – flexible and tailored directly to your needs. You can also call us at +49 (0)30 2649210.

Antimikrobielle Resistenzen im Rampenlicht

Panel discussion auf der AMR Conference 2019

Berlin, 21.03.2019 – Mehr als 330 internationale Experten kamen am 14. und 15. März nach Berlin zur zwölften Berlin Conference on Life Sciences, um über die dringendsten Herausforderungen bei der Bekämpfung von Antibiotikaresistenzen zu diskutieren.

Veranstaltet wurde die zweitägige Konferenz mit dem Titel „Novel Antimicrobials and AMR Diagnostics 2019“ von der BIOCOM mit Unterstützung der European BEAM Alliance. Die Veranstaltung lockte vor allem zahlreiche kleine und mittlere innovative Unternehmen (KMU) nach Berlin. Denn während viele große Pharmaunternehmen das Feld verlassen haben, arbeiten Hunderte von KMU an neuen Therapie- und Diagnoselösungen zur Bekämpfung multiresistenter Krankheitserreger.

„Die AMR-Konferenz hat sich als professionelle Plattform für gemeinsame Diskussionen und Networking für AMR-Stakeholder aus aller Welt etabliert“, sagt Sandra Wirsching, verantwortlich für das AMR-Konferenzprogramm bei BIOCOM. Vertreter des internationalen AMR Accelerators CARB-X, der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO), der Handels- und Entwicklungskonferenz der Vereinten Nationen (UNCTAD), der US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), GARDP, DZIF, der europäischen Netzwerke JPIAMR und ENABLE, des Global AMR R&D Hub, des neuen internationalen AMR-Zentrums ICARS sowie großer Pharma- und Diagnostikunternehmen, Biotech-Unternehmen und privater Investoren stellten Updates, neue Initiativen und vielversprechende Ansätze vor, um AMR-Innovationen bei der Entwicklung, Finanzierung und Markteinführung zu unterstützen.

Zum ersten Mal in diesem Jahr wurde auf der Konferenz ein Investor Partnering angeboten, um AMR-orientierte Therapeutika- und Diagnostika-Entwickler mit relevanten öffentlichen und privaten Geldgebern zusammenzubringen. „Das Investor Partnering bedeutet einen großen Schritt nach vorne“, kommentierte Sandra Wirsching. „Die Teilnehmer der etwa 200 Gespräche bewerteten sie ausgesprochen positiv.“

Vertreter der Branche lobten die Veranstaltung und betonten, dass es dazu beitrage, die dringend benötigte Aufmerksamkeit für antimikrobielle Resistenzen in der Öffentlichkeit zu erzielen.

Zur Website des Events

Was können wir für Sie tun?

Haben Sie Interesse an unseren Produkten oder Dienstleistungen? Bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf. Wir unterbreiten Ihnen sehr gerne ein unverbindliches Angebot – flexibel und direkt auf Sie zugeschnitten. Und natürlich können Sie uns auch direkt anrufen +49 (0)30 2649210